Blog Revamp

First, an apology. I’m in the process of revamping this blog. I thought it would be easier to just make it private so nobody had to see it under construction. I did not know it would freak people out. I apologize. I won’t do that again. I promise.

As for the revamp–it’s not just the design and layout. I’m changing the entire focus. From here on out the whole blog will be devoted to ebooks. Design, production, nuts and bolts, the weird little details that fascinate me. I’ll share with you things I learn, useful tips and tricks and any resources I dig up. I’ll talk about formatting challenges, computer programs, distribution outlets and anything else I learn that might be useful for you (because you really do want to make beautiful ebooks, right?)

What I’ll stay away from is indie vs. traditional publishing, cover design (follow The Book Designer for the best advice on covers) marketing, promotion and reviews. There are other bloggers with far more practical experience and far better advice on those subjects than I can provide.

Even though people really like it when I rag and nag on traditional publishers–especially Harlequin–I’m going to leave that to others. Ditto for agents. Read Joe Konrath, David Gaughran and the Passive Voice for all the latest in tomfoolery and just plain foolishness happening in the industry.

As for talking about the stories, the books themselves, I’ll be moving my more popular blog posts about fiction over to my other blog: Jaye’s Love Affair With Genre Fiction.

As for writing and editing, I’ll leave that to others, too.

Again, apologies for any inconvenience.

15 thoughts on “Blog Revamp

  1. Congrats on the new blog! I find your formatting posts interesting. Even if it’s a job I mostly hire-out, I like to know the nuts and bolts behind it.

    Question: are you still on twitter? I haven’t seen you there lately.

    • Hi, Nancy. I really don’t know. I have so much going on, I just wanted to do what seemed quickest and easiest. There is so much I don’t know about WordPress because I haven’t taken the time to figure it out. Heh.

      I need an intern. Or a minion. Lousy pay, I’m a grouch, and the intern has to deal with a pair of oversized insane dogs. Any takers? Anyone…?

Leave a Reply

