Now For Something Completely Different

I have the best job in the world and it’s the best for reasons that have nothing to do with money.

aaGingercookiesLike this. Homemade ginger cookies and lemon curd, the cookie recipe developed just for me because I dig them soft and chewy. There ain’t no piece of paper, no matter how many zeros it has, worth more than that. A pretty sweet (and sour) bonus from one of my favorite writers, Julia Barrett.

Writers send me books, too. Did you all know I happen to love books? Well, it’s true.

aaSignBooksI treasure having something beautiful that I had some part in creating. This is art and craft and well wishes all rolled up into one.

Sometimes I get the most unexpected surprises. Like this, a thank you from Mel Ting that showed up in my email today. I did her a tiny favor and I sure wasn’t expecting this!

Scan 132750001That’s my cat, Lynx, who she has never met, but still managed to capture his expression and attitude perfectly. (Lynx sez: If we’re handing out bonuses, folks, ahem, don’t forget the one who keeps the papers warm on the desk top.)

Sometimes I think just the opportunity to work with such talented, creative, energetic and sometimes delightfully outrageous people is payment enough. I thank you all for it.

4 thoughts on “Now For Something Completely Different

  1. You get the best presents! The kitty is priceless. And I’m always happy to send you baked goods and preserved goods! Because your help is, like the kitty, priceless. Thanks, Jaye.

    • One advantage of books and pictures, I don’t have to hide them from my thieving children, especially my son-in-law (once a Marine, always EATS like a Marine–that’s the saying, right?)

Leave a Reply

